Western Technology Music Society

From Metakgp Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Western Technology Music Society, popularly known as WTMS, is one of the two official music societies in IIT Kharagpur, which governs the western music scene in the campus. The society aims at spreading diverse music genres, nurturing and motivating musicians, inculcating values and expression through music, and develop good music taste among our audience.

Functioning[edit | edit source]

Selection Procedure[edit | edit source]

WTMS selection auditions are held at least once in a year, in the autumn semester (sometimes happen in the spring semester too, depending on requirement), for all students (UG/PG), around the month of August/September. Selection procedure generally consist of two rounds, where the first round is a preliminary screening round to assess basic musical ability, comfort with the instrument (or singing), basic knowledge, and screened candidates are invited to give a second round of auditions where they are given few (2-3) songs to prepare. For instrumentalists, the songs that are decided are generally same for everyone, and they are chosen such that they cover a diverse spectrum of techniques/skills in the particular instrument, and for vocalists, the songs are given on the basis of the pitch range and the singer's tonality. There is generally a gap of 3-4 days between both rounds of the auditions.

Organizational Structure[edit | edit source]

WTMS has three governors selected by the society seniors every year who govern the society and represent it in Gymkhana. Overall co-ordination during practices, productions and competitions are handled by the governors.

Activities[edit | edit source]

The primary activities of the society include organizing and performing two productions every academic year, one in the Autumn Semester and the other in Spring Semester. The playlist is decided few weeks prior to the production through a consensus of all the members in the society. Songs are chosen so that the playlist is as diverse as possible, consisting of (but not limited to) genres such as Rock (Progressive/Post/Classic/Psychadelic), Metal(Thrash/Prog/Core), Jazz, Blues, Funk, Neo-soul, R&B.

Autumn Production[edit | edit source]

WTMS performs the annual production in the autumn semester generally in the month of October/November around the Durga Puja vacations. This is also the first time the new inductees get the chance to perform for the society.

Spring Production[edit | edit source]

WTMS performs the spring production in the spring semester generally in the month of March, after the end-semester examinations, around the time when Hall Days are going on. This happens to be the final production of the graduating batch and they get a chance to play some of their favourite songs for one last time in KGP.

Governors[edit | edit source]

List of Governors
2019-20 Nishok Sundarresan Riazuddin Khan -
2018-19 Bhushan Deshmukh Utkarsh Tyagi Haripriyo Mondal
2017-18 Kushal Gaikwad Abhinav Jain Souvik Bhattacharya
2016-17 Nishant Kumar Jainil Yadav Shambhobi Bhattacharya
2015-16 Vinay Bhaskar Dikshant Raj Satyaki Das
2014-15 Armaan Hatwal Akash Gupta Soham Goswami
2013-14 Aritra Basu Koulick Ghosh Sumit Mohanty
2012-13 Praful Puranik Saakallya Biswas Sayan Pramanik