Inter IIT Sports Meet

From Metakgp Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Inter IIT sports meet, is an annual gathering of teams from all IITs (currently 16) across India, where they compete across wide range of sporting activities. The event is hosted in cycle by one of the participating institutions and is organized during the month of December. Inter IIT sports meet 2017 will be held at IIT Madras during December. Aquatics is, however,separately organized as aquatics meet during the month of October.

It is one of the highly sought after events for sport enthusiasts, thus, witnessing an intense competition from teams to prove their mettle. It is also a place to forge new friendships and enjoy the fruits of your year-round efforts.

Objective[edit | edit source]

As the Inter-IIT Rule Book notes, the main objective of Inter IIT Sports Meet is “to organize sports competitions in some selected Olympics-recognized events, to encourage sportsmanship, to promote and create a better harmony, understanding and friendly interaction among the students of the IITs as well as to foster a close association among them”

It also goes on add, “to make students aware of the importance of sports and games in a modern era, to help students perform skillfully in all life situations and also raise the standard of sports in IIT’s”. [1]

Participants[edit | edit source]

All the 23 IITs participants in the Inter IIT Sports Meet:

  1. Indian Institute of Technology Bhilai
  2. Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneshwar
  3. Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) Varanasi
  4. Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  5. Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  6. Indian Institute of Technology (ISM) Dhanbad
  7. Indian Institute of Technology Dharwad
  8. Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
  9. Indian Institute of Technology Goa
  10. Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
  11. Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad
  12. Indian Institute of Technology Indore
  13. Indian Institute of Technology Jammu
  14. Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur
  15. Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
  16. Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  17. Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  18. Indian Institute of Technology Mandi
  19. Indian Institute of Technology Palakkad
  20. Indian Institute of Technology Patna
  21. Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
  22. Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
  23. Indian Institute of Technology Tirupati

Events[edit | edit source]

The sports which are part of the General Championship are :

  1. Athletics
  2. Badminton
  3. Basketball
  4. Cricket
  5. Football
  6. Hockey
  7. Lawn Tennis
  8. Squash
  9. Swimming
  10. Table Tennis
  11. Volleyball
  12. Water Polo
  13. Weightlifting

Performance[edit | edit source]

IIT Kharagpur has been crowned champions 13 times since its inception (in the Men's GC), and has been showing a sub-par performance for the past few years (coming third in last 2 years, and the last gold came way back in 2005).

History[edit | edit source]

The proposition for an Inter IIT Sports Meet was brought up in 1961, and IIT Bombay hosted the first ever Inter IIT Sports Meet. Only five IITs were in existence then, namely IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Kanpur and IIT Delhi; who competed in five sports only.

Results[edit | edit source]

Year Edition Held at Champions Year Edition Held at Champions Year Edition Held at Champions
1961 1 Bombay Kharagpur 1989 26 Kanpur Kharagpur 2015 51 Madras Cancelled due to flood in Chennai
1963 2 Kharagpur Kharagpur 1990 27 Delhi Delhi 2016 51 Kanpur Kanpur
1964 3 Madras Kharagpur 1991 28 Kharagpur Kharagpur 2017 52 Madras Bombay
1966 4 Bombay Bombay 1993 29 Bombay Bombay 2018 53 Guwahati Delhi
1967 5 Delhi Kharagpur 1994 30 Washed out 2019 54 Kharagpur and Bhubaneswar Kharagpur
1968 6 Kanpur Kharagpur 1995 31 Kanpur Bombay
1969 7 Kharagpur Kharagpur 1996 32 Delhi Madras
1970 8 Madras Kharagpur 1997 33 Kharagpur Kharagpur
1972 9 Kharagpur Madras 1998 34 Bombay Bombay
1973 10 Bombay Madras 1999 35 Madras Madras
1974 11 Delhi Madras 2000 36 Kanpur Bombay
1975 12 Kharagpur Madras 2001 37 Kharagpur Kharagpur
1976 13 Kanpur Madras 2002 38 Delhi Delhi
1977 14 Madras Madras 2003 39 Bombay Madras
1978 15 Bombay Madras 2004 40 Madras Madras
1979 16 Delhi Madras 2005 41 Roorkee Kharagpur
1980 17 Kanpur Madras 2006 42 Guwahati Madras
1981 18 Kharagpur Bombay 2007 43 Bombay Bombay
1982 19 Bombay Madras 2008 44 Madras Bombay
1983 20 Was not held 2009 45 Kanpur Bombay
1984 21 Kanpur Bombay 2010 46 Delhi Madras
1985 22 Delhi Bombay 2011 47 Kharagpur Madras
1986 23 Kharagpur Kharagpur 2012 48 Roorkee Bombay
1987 24 Bombay Bombay 2013 49 Guwahati Kanpur
1988 25 Madras Madras 2014 50 Bombay Kanpur

The Meet in 1971 was cancelled due to the India-Pakistan war, while the one in 1992 was to be held at IIT Bombay but was cancelled owing to the communal riots in Mumbai, also, the meet during December 2015, which was to be held in IIT Chennai, was cancelled due to heavy rains and flooding inside the IIT Chennai campus.

External links[edit | edit source]